At the heart of Oregon State University's pursuit of excellence are faculty—scholars and educators who advance knowledge while teaching, challenging, and guiding students. These are the individuals in whom OSU's mission lives and breathes.

Named faculty positions bring resources and prestige to OSU, allowing the university to recruit and retain the world's foremost experts. The additional resources help build excellent programs and inspire faculty and the students around to thrive. In short, named faculty positions raise the university to a higher level of excellence.


Named Positions Held by
Boeing Professorship in Mechanical Engineering Design Roberto Albertani
College of Engineering Dean's Professor Jonathan Hurst
Richard and Gretchen Evans Professor in Humanitarian Engineering Kendra Sharp
Arthur E. Hitsman Faculty Scholar Chris Hoyle
Eric R. Smith Professor of Engineering Harriet Nembhard
Swigert Faculty Fellow Karl Haapala
Tykeson Faculty Scholar in Energy Systems Engineering Robin Feuerbacher
Welty Faculty Fellow David Blunck
James R. Welty Professorship in Thermal-Fluid Sciences James Liburdy
Tom and Carmen West Faculty Scholar Brian Paul